Technology is continuously evolving and we are always keen to make use of advances to improve our service to our clients. We occasionally need to make room for innovation by removing sections of code that are no longer necessary. We understand that this can be disruptive and have designed our Deprecation Policy to protect our clients’ investment while allowing us to take advantage of modern tools, frameworks and software development practices.
Once a feature, design or practice is deprecated, we discourage its further use because it has been superseded or is no longer considered efficient or safe. Instead of removing it immediately, we mark it as deprecated, providing backward compatibility and time for you to update your projects. While the deprecated feature remains in the API and/or SDK for a period, we advise that you replace it with the recommended alternative, as explained in the relevant section of API documentation or the SDK code.
We remove deprecated features after three months from the time of announcement.
Sometimes we have to deprecate features because they pose a security threat or because new, more secure ways are available. On such occasions, we reserve the right to set a different deprecation period which may range from immediate removal to the standard three months.
Once a feature is deprecated, we continue to make security fixes but we do not develop the code further or implement bug fixes.